Congratulations to Silas Fyler – Winner of the Second Annual Lynn Wolbarst Sustainability Award

Each year, The Sustainable Sharon Coalition honors the work of a Sharon community member, who has shown dedication to making strides in the environmental movement. The award is given in honor or Lynn Wolbarst’s legacy of service. Lynn was a Sharon resident, who made significant contributions to our community by seeking innovative solutions to environmental problems and issues. This year, The Sustainable Sharon Coalition is thrilled to award the Second Annual Lynn Wolbarst Sustainability Award to Silas Fyler.

Silas has an extraordinarily long history of environmental activism, most notably in Sharon, but also in our surrounding communities. As a founding member of No Sharon Gas Pipeline, Silas played a major role in opposing the gas pipeline, which was planned to run through Sharon on its way to Canada. Silas has worked tirelessly to make school, and other municipal, buildings in town more energy efficient, both independently, as well as through his work on the Town of Sharon Energy Advisory Committee. Silas was active in both the first and second incarnations of the Energy Advisory Committee, most recently by encouraging solar canopy and panel installations, as well as energy aggregation here in Sharon. After years of trials and effort, Silas was successful in securing Sharon as a designated Green Community, which was no small feat, in part by demonstrating Sharon’s commitment to LED street lighting and greening up our schools. Silas also created the Sharon Saves program, which has allowed countless homeowners in town to mitigate their home energy loss in many ways, including bringing community solar to town residences. Silas works tirelessly, and with an incredible depth of knowledge, to help reduce the overall carbon footprint in Sharon. For that, we are so fortunate that he is part of our community and are proud to recognize him for his achievements.

Congratulations, Silas!

*The LWSA ceremony will be recorded on Saturday, May 2nd and made available thereafter for viewing on the SSC website and via Sharon Community TV.