About us

Share WithShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone

The Sustainable Sharon Coalition is a group of citizens working towards a vision of Sharon as a leading sustainable community.

To this end we work with neighbors, elected officials, and town staff to promote measures that conserve and sustain our community’s use of natural & man made resources in order to take part in the global effort to protect our planet.

We are a 501(c)3 non-profit with all our expenses going to things like educational outreach materials, website fees, room rentals, and misc. supplies.  Donations are tax deductible.

2018/2019 Board of Directors

SSC Officers are elected on an annual basis.

Cheryl Schnitzer (President)
Simone Tamkin (VP)
Ruby Gu (Treasurer)
Kathy Farrell (Secretary)

Board Members
Stuart Brown
Cherry Chun
Paul Lauenstein
John Marcus
Kathi Mirza
Bri McAlevey
Kat Nasti
Emily Smith-Lee
Ricky Stern

Some of our past and present projects include:

Trashy Book Club
Open House Info Session
Green Day!
Held Public Forum about Green Community/MA State Program

Community Solar – signed up over 70 homes
Free Home Thermal Analysis
Mass SAVE Home Energy Assessments

Safe Routes to School
Better Bike Routes
Bike Rodeos for Kids
Complete Streets Program/MassDOT
NuRides w/MassDOT
Traffic Lights at Pond & Ames St.

Grant Application for Sharon Public Schools Recycling Coordinator
Held Multiple SMART Trash Public Forums
Tabling/Cable TV/Interviews
Weekly Composting w/ Cottage Street Students Composting Workshop
Opened Thrift Store at Historical Society

Water Conservation
Monitored Stream Flow in Beaver & Billings Brooks
Monitored Lake Levels
State and National Award Winning Residential Water Conservation Program

Community Cleanup/Beach Cleanup
HEET MA – townwide gas leak analysis
Sharon Solar Network

The Sustainable Sharon Coalition was formed in 2012 by Sharon residents Nancy & Silas Fyler, Paul Lauenstein, Ricky Stern, and Lynn Wolbarst.